Late-night dining is not sustainable.

April 17, 2011 at 2:26 pm Leave a comment

By Lisa Velkoff

As I mentioned in my blog post earlier this week, the No Impact Challenge has so far been fairly manageable for me. Turning down plastic bags is easy; that’s something I was already doing. Having an extra incentive to remember my re-usable coffee mug has been excellent. I might not be winning the challenge so far, but I felt like I was doing pretty well.

Until the late-night studying munchies set in. This week, due to some unfortunate circumstances, I’ve been forced to play catch-up on work with successive late nights. I’m fortunate to live in Willard Res College, meaning that it is atrociously easy for me to work somewhere (Fran’s Cafe)  that is not my room, without having to trek to the library. Nightly study parties with friends are easy and fun!

Unfortunately, sometime around 12:30, in the midst of a line-by-line analysis of Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116, I’m struck by the craving for those heavenly, dangerously unhealthy waffle fries. And of course a chocolate shake. $5 in points later, I find myself staring at a milkshake in a disposable cup, with a plastic straw, and greasy french fries heaped into one of those paper containers. I cringe. Not only am I devouring those calories, my consumption of reusable products is skyrocketing horrifically. Suddenly, I’ve found my Achilles heel, and it is late-night dining. Next time, I’m buying a bulk bag of Stacy’s pita chips that will last me for a whole week of midnight munchies.

Entry filed under: Confessional.

Evil Fast Food? Hotel Breakfast Gone Bad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


No Impact Challenge for May 2012!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tracking the Challenge

April 2011
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

