Confession: Family Visit

April 19, 2011 at 3:30 pm Leave a comment

by Alix Hallen

I just arrived back on campus after a whirl-wind visit with my family. It was a wonderful weekend, however, it was unfortunately not great for my no impact challenge numbers. I have been trying, while at school, to live a more sustainable life. This has been difficult, but since I have control over what I purchase and what I use it has become part of my daily routine to pay attention and use reusable items. This weekend, however, I was not in control and because I was out of town, did not have my handy dandy reusable items. Thus, my confession:

This weekend, I ate off disposable plates, use disposable utensils, took plastic bags at the grocery store and did a myriad of other unsustainable things. While I am not proud of this, this weekend made me realize something, that sometimes you just have to go with the flow. As much as it broke my heart to use disposable plates and utensils, I understood the convenience and the necessity of them for this particular family gathering. I also realized that once and a while, I can take a plastic shopping bag because I just have no other option. So I hope that this confession, lovely readers of this blog, will make you feel a bit better if you slip up once in a while.

Although it is much better to live a sustainable and environmentally friendly life each and everyday, sometimes you just have to go with the flow.

Entry filed under: Confessional, No Impact Challenge.

Lessons from a Prospie Gradually Becoming Habitual

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


No Impact Challenge for May 2012!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tracking the Challenge

April 2011
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

