Lessons from a Prospie

April 19, 2011 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

by Chase Eck

It was Sunday.  I had just picked up a prospie (prospective student for those not in the know) and we were headed out to lunch.  I suggested a couple places downtown and she picked Five Guys. My mouth watering in anticipation of the juicy goodness that is a Five Guys burger, I walked eagerly there.  I went up to the counter and ordered a cheeseburger and a water…and then it hit me: that burger would be wrapped in foil and then put into a paper bag and my water? It came in a plastic cup. Three wasted single-use items, three points.  I sat down glum at the sudden increase in my point total for the day. As lunch went on I ended up talking to the prospie about student groups and BaglessNU. I told her about the game and she seemed pretty interested.  Discussion about the game and my recent strategic misstep led to a broader conversation about sustainability and why exactly I was doing this.  In fact, I had just the type of conversation that we hoped to spark when the idea of the game was introduced. 

As I look back on Sunday I think about it as a successful day.  Sure, I got three points and, more importantly, used up three single-use items, but I got the chance to talk to someone and share with them the real issue.  While playing and designing this game I’ve found that it’s easy to get caught up in the pursuit of victory or the details of the rules and lose sight of why we’re actually doing this. The real purpose of this game is not to win but to raise awareness of the unnecessary waste that we produce through single use items and hopefully encourage more people to stop using single-use items. Even though I have failed to completely avoid single use items I can console myself with the hope that just by participating I am helping to bring about a broader awareness of the need to be sustainable because no matter how few points I get I can’t do it alone.

Entry filed under: No Impact Challenge. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hotel Breakfast Gone Bad Confession: Family Visit

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


No Impact Challenge for May 2012!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tracking the Challenge

April 2011
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

