Thursday’s Points

April 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment

Like the other No Impact contestants, I consider myself to be very aware, as well as very conscientious, about how my actions impact the planet on a daily basis.  It is true, however, like Alicia pointed out, that a single delivery (or, in my case, take-out) meal, can have a huge impact.  I spent much of Thursday feeling very self-righteous.  I found myself like the Pharisee in Luke 18:11 who stood up and prayed about himself: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men–robbers, evildoers, adulterers–or even like this tax collector.’  In my case, it was more like, “Thank God I’m not like this woman in front of me in line at Jewel asking the cashier to double-bag her groceries.”  And I yelled at the cashier at Whole Foods who tried to put my soap in a bag.  I even gave one of my reusable bags to a guy on a bicycle whose groceries were about to spill out of his splitting paper bag.  But then I dropped my son off downtown at the Metra station and realized it was right around the corner from Pastoral which has the most delicious sandwiches.  So I went in and realized that every single item was going to cost me.  But, in addition to the sandwich, I still couldn’t pass up the opportunity to purchase a bottle of delicious sparkling juice (I was very thirsty and had forgotten my water bottle.) As they say, “Pride goes before a Fall.”  Alas, Earth, I have sinned against you today to the tune of three points.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Story of My Points Need a Ruling… Pizza Box?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


No Impact Challenge for May 2012!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tracking the Challenge

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« May    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

